28 May 2008

PhonepayPlus has today announced the appointments of Matti Alderson, Ruth Evans, Andrew Flanagan and Jeremy Hallsworth as non-executive Board members, effective 1 September 2008. George Kidd, Chief Executive of PhonepayPlus, also joins as an executive member, effective immediately.

The appointments are in line with PhonepayPlus' intention, first announced in March 2007 and ratified by Ofcom earlier this year, to create a smaller Board focused on strategic direction, policy-making and supervising the work of the PhonepayPlus Executive.

The selection process was managed by a Panel comprising the PhonepayPlus Chairman, an outgoing Board member, a senior executive from Ofcom and an independent assessor.

The appointments replace outgoing Board members Ed Boddington, Nicholas Higham, Sara Nathan, Mike Short and Mike Tully who will step down at the end of August.

"I am delighted that we were able to attract individuals of the calibre of Matti, Ruth, Andrew and Jeremy to the Board. PhonepayPlus stands to benefit enormously from their experience and professionalism," said Sir Alistair Graham, Chairman of PhonepayPlus.

"At the same time, I would like to thank Ed, Nick, Sara and Mikes Short and Tully who have each served with distinction and dedication. They can be rightly proud of their efforts to pre-empt and prevent problems in the phone-paid services market and to protect consumers," he concluded.

- ends-

For further information, please contact:

PhonepayPlus press office on (020) 7940 7440.


PhonepayPlus is the organisation (previously known as ICSTIS) that regulates phone-paid services - the goods and services that you can buy by charging the cost to your phone bills and mobile pre-pay accounts. Further details of its work can be found at

Matti Alderson is Executive Chairman of the Direct Marketing Commission, the regulator for the the direct marketing industry, and Managing Director of Firehorses which provides clients with advice on regulatory policy and strategy. She is a Commissioner with the Press Complaints Commission and a former Director General of the Advertising Standards Authority.

Ruth Evans is Chairman of the Bar Standards Board, the legal regulator, Deputy Chairman of the Ofcom Consumer Panel (until July 2008) and a lay member of the General Medical Council. Ruth is a former Chief Executive of the National Consumer Council and a member of the Queen's Counsel Selection Panel.

Andrew Flanagan is non-executive Chairman at Fleming Media, a privately-owned media investment firm, and a Director of NESTA (National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts). Andrew was Chief Executive of Scottish Media Group Plc for ten years and was a Director of the Scottish Rugby Union.

Jeremy Hallsworth is Chief Executive Officer of BT agilemedia, a wholly owned subsidiary of British Telecom that supplies participation media solutions to broadcasters and service providers. Jeremy was previously Managing Director of Carlton Digital Channels, Carlton Television's cable and digital terrestrial business.